My Apologies. It’s Been a While.

Over the last few months, I had been writing a series of posts about ethics and professional fundraising.  I am near the end of the series, and before I could finish, life came at me with full force.  It has taken me away from my blogging and social media presence, and for that, I apologize to my followers and readers.

As some of you know, I returned to my hometown of Rockford, Illinois a little over a year ago. I came back to help my elderly parents in their final years, and I felt good about it, and those who know have told me that I am doing a great thing.  I appreciate the praise of those who give it, but I am not doing it for praise.  I am doing it because I love my folks and lived too far away to really be a part of their lives for far too many years.

In the past few weeks, each of my parents have spent time in the hospital.  While one was a patient, the other would need to be driven to see the spouse.  There have been doctors’ appointments since then, some in other cities.  There have been errands to run, shopping to do, church services to attend.  It has been physically and emotionally exhausting.

I let the ball drop.

Things are settling down, and I need to sit down and finish this series and move on.

I hope you understand.

About greatergoodfundraising

Richard Freedlund has been active in the nonprofit sector in a number of ways, both professionally and as a volunteer. He is the founder of Greater Good Fundraising, a business that helps schools and organizations raise money for their programs while accomplishing something positive for the community. After living in Oregon for 27 years, he has returned to his hometown of Rockford, Illinois and hopes to make his mark on the nonprofit sector there. He is the father of a talented jazz musician and the son of philanthropic parents that continue to support multiple causes. To contact Richard for consulting, fundraising, or speaking opportunities, email greatergoodfundraising@gmail.com or reach him on Twitter.com @ggfundraise
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Apologies. It’s Been a While.

  1. Richard, family comes first. Who wouldn’t understand that? Sending good thoughts and prayers your way.
    Diana

  2. myersbowman says:

    I’ll second Diana. No apologies or explanation necessary. We get it because we have lives too. Hang in there.

  3. Richard, your parents are the important thing. No apology needed!

Leave a Reply

